Not only do students face social situations in school, we also face it in our work environment. As a student, I can defend the idea that we ill prepared for social interaction in career related situations. We lack the knowledge of social intelligence.  This is defined, by Tim Elmore, as “The capacity to effectively negotiate complex social relationships and environments”. School has formed us to be opinionated, bold, obnoxious,  and unsympathetic. We carry these characteristics into the work field, and these are unacceptable. It’s not that we weren’t taught how to behave in serious situations, we have formed to survive high school. This article spoke to me because I have defined myself in my blog. I have grown to have a shell, and I will protect it no matter the cost. I have confidence that needs to be knocked down because I have a hard time obeying orders that I don’t see fit. I realize that my overwhelming personality is not suitable for work environment. I have had experience in jobs, and it is getting better, but I have alot to learn. I must keep reminding myself that my character reflect on, not only myself, but my school, community, and family.

http://growingleaders.com/blog/first-soft-skill-develop-students/